leggo my obento! the bento blog


First Bento in *Years*
November 7, 2015, 6:02 pm
Filed under: Beef, Bento, FYI

I recently went on a trip to Tokyo for work (and also did some sight seeing). I ate so much amazing Japanese food! When I got back, I was inspired to start packing bento again. I currently telecommute, although I’ve been thinking about joining a coworking space just to get out of the house.

The big reason I want to pack bento again is portion control, but also so when it’s time for my lunch break I don’t have to worry about cooking anything for lunch. In the process of moving a few times I’ve lost my bento box collection😦 But the good news is I get to start from scratch! I think one really doesn’t need that many. I have a nice wood one to replace the one I can’t seem to find and a small plastic one with little compartments.

Today I packed a lunch in the small plastic one and discovered that while amazing, it’s pretty small. I got this onigiri kit that came with a little onigiri case and in the future I’ll just make an onigiri to go with whatever I’m packing in this bento if I’m having rice. Otherwise it will be good for mixed noodle or rice dishes where the protein and some veggies are mixed in and can sit easily in the large compartment.

First Bento After Hiatus!

First Bento After Hiatus!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

